The Rise and Fall of Commentary and Sneakers

I don’t know why, but I never came across Jake Davis’ blog up until the other day and it took me awhile to go back through all his posts. It was a good time though, and that’s because it is filled with a healthy array of articles on incredible garments, quotes, music, and video…enough to make it a one stop shop. Maybe it’s because he covers RRL specifically and numerous other obsessions of mine, whatever it is, it’s good.

Besides all the materialistic mumbo jumbo that we bloggers and readers obsess over, he makes a conscious effort to add some of the best commentary on not only the piece at hand, but to make it fit into a different point of view entirely. In the end, when you leave his blog…you think more than just about a chambray shirt or the newest season from whatever hot designer at the moment. 

Now onto footwear which everyone, I don’t care who you are, loves at some juncture. Jake puts a nice perspective on the market of the past 5 years or so I would say. I think around 2005 or so I noticed a massive down turn from the hoards I would see sporting the newest Bathing Apes or Nike Blazers. I love sneakers as much as the next guy, but in more of a muted sense.

If you live in any sort of city that has a population of a couple thousand (I’d be hard pressed to find someone who doesn’t), you, your friends, and the random joe’s on the street are wearing much different apparel on their feet. It looks as though suddenly everyone was given the preppy handbook. Now we universally see some wing tips, boat shoes, blucher mocs, and of course boots being the universal choice of late on the feet of people who years ago were throwing an excessive array of colors on drab streets of cities everywhere. Like Jake said, maybe we got older, maybe we want something more substantial, or maybe it’s just a bit more classic? Whatever it may be, a trend or otherwise…I think we can all agree it’s nice to see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rise and Fall of Commentary and Sneakers

  1. Glad to discover your blog…will check in with Jake also. I’l feeling like I got a great “two for the price of one” deal.

  2. Memphis88 says:

    I would agree if it were not some passing trend. I don’t like when things I have worn for a long time suddenly become popular and people who have no understanding of whatever item it is wear it because it’s the cool thing to do. If, somehow, everyone began dressing well permanently then it’d be ok, I guess.

Leave a Reply

