Sunday Brunch at Greenpoint Coffee House

Sunday brunches have been a staple of my mornings since arriving to Brooklyn. Sometimes it’s an excuse to continue drinking through the day from the night before with a good breakfast as a compliment. However, Mimosa’s, Bloody Mary’s, and White Russians can only take your Sunday brunch so far. Lately, I have been trying different places to get a feel for the absolute best and letting the food count for more than just to fill a stomach full of booze.

The top of the list thus far has been Greenpoint Coffee House on the corner of Franklin St. and Green St in Brooklyn. While they don’t have one of those eye catching ‘all you can drink’ deals (which I’ve realized is normally to make up for the sub-par food), they make up for delicious dishes and stunning service. I haven’t tried anything else on the menu besides the poached eggs with hollandaise and avocado over English muffin, but it’s hard when you find the one palatte pleasing dish. Besides the food, the actual tea and coffee selection is outstanding. 

I know there’s some other great suggestions for other great locations out there, let’s hear it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Brunch at Greenpoint Coffee House

  1. plaidout says:

    It’s hard for me to venture beyond the Fort for breakfast. A weekend brunch-off?

  2. Karin says:

    Why is Brooklyn so far far away?

  3. drinkinanddronin says:

    Max, we definitely need to make brunch a reality. I’d be game for a day in the Fort. My people will get with your people.

  4. Jamie says:

    Walter Foods brunch is lights out. Might not be in your immediate hood and is a little pricier than other BK options – but definitely worth trip in my opinion. Great Steak & Eggs and a phenomenal French Dip.

    http://walterfoods.com/brunch.html

  5. drinkinanddronin says:

    Thanks very much for the tip. I will make sure I venture that way in the near future.

  6. indeed a great spot. And I second the Walter recommendation.
    Diner is, of course, a mainstay in the hood…
    Hope you’re digging brooklyn life. We should perhaps meet up sometime.

  7. drinkinanddronin says:

    Brooklyn’s been great so far. Certainly should meet up. I think myself and Max are getting drinks soon so we should just make a gang of it.

  8. Brad says:

    Brooklyn, stand up!
    Didn’t realize you were a fellow Brooklynite.

  9. Yes! Glad to see that other folks love GCH as much as I do. I wrote about it way back in August and am planning another trip very soon (can’t get there as often not living the the area anymore)! Check it out: http://eatbrooklynfood.blogspot.com/2008/08/pancakes-eggs_17.html

    Have you tried brunch at Enid’s yet? Or Eat Records? Yum!

  10. drinkinanddronin says:

    I love your blog! I’d visited a couple times, and find myself constantly going back. GCH is delicious and I wish I could make it over that way more often.

    Enids sounds familiar, but I don’t think it was brunch that I had there. I will definitely check both of those out.

  11. Holy smokes, has anyone made comment of Egg on no.5th b/w bedford and berry. it’s killer. Get there pronto. But be prepared for a little wait.
    Oh and happy one year…

    best,
    james of Secret Forts

  12. drinkinanddronin says:

    Definitely will take part in it. Had quite a night with Max on Friday, we need to make a group of it soon. Dying to meet you sir.

  13. Hey! Just saw your reply post to my comment. Thanks so much. If you do go to Enid’s, get the potato & leek hash with bacon…divine! The special Scrapple was amazing as well (even though it sounds horrible).

  14. Pingback: Blog Buzz: Bowling, Rooftop Cabanas & Whizzing Gizmos

Leave a Reply

