Stan Getz & João Gilberto – The Girl From Ipanema

I have a big soft spot for female fronted solo efforts and groups alike, but especially 60’s pop songs from South American and French women. I have always loved the different versions of The Girl From Ipanema, but never saw the video for the song until recently from the film “Get Yourself A College Girl”. Actually, watching it made me remember how impatient I am for Mad Men season 3.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stan Getz & João Gilberto – The Girl From Ipanema

  1. M.Lane says:

    This is the GREATEST SONG EVER. Except maybe “One for My Baby” by Frank. I didn’t know of this movie or video, so a HUGE thanks for bringing it out. GREAT post.

    ML
    mlanesepic.blogspot.com

  2. lottie says:

    Hi!
    I just wanted to be sure Astrud Gilberto is credited as the singer! She’s great, definitely worth a listen.

    Love Stan’s cardi!

    Cheers!
    lottie

  3. drinkinanddronin says:

    Apologies! I don’t know how I totally skipped mentioning her name!

    I’m glad you enjoyed the video ML, I definitely had the same reaction when I first saw it it. Franks and Astrud’s versions are both incredible. Makes me want to vacation asap.

Leave a Reply

