Ben Shahn for the Farm Security Administration

Realist painter and photographer, Ben Shahn, was commissioned by the federal government to document workers in the Southeast region of West Memphis and Arkansas. Featured are a small amount of the work he undertook for the Farm Security Administration in the 1930’s to better America’s underprivileged. There are many more to the great series I plan on adding soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ben Shahn for the Farm Security Administration

  1. I’ve got the book of Ben Shahn’s work by the Library of Congress. I bought it after I saw some of his work about a month and a half ago in the Photography section at the MOMA. So great.

  2. nbolton says:

    I really like Shahn’s work, wrote something about him awhile back on his work. More of a “social realist” than a “realist” painter…his paintings are pretty out there. These are great photos though.

  3. drinkinanddronin says:

    Yea, I had originally written social realist but I didn’t want it to seem like I was copy and pasting from every article on him I’ve ever read, but I suppose it’s a real title.

  4. Isaac Buie says:

    Beautiful work. Thanks Brandon.

  5. karen says:

    these are great, looking forward to seeing more!

Leave a Reply

